This year a greater number of island students applied for scholarship support
than ever before. As a result, the Island Institute awarded 66 traditional
scholarships totaling nearly $35,000; 19 more scholarships than last year’s
record number of 47.

Institute scholarships are awarded for traditional college support with
assistance from the Maine Community Foundation.

Recipients of 2002 Island Institute Scholarships by island are:

Chebeague: Diane Leon (University of Southern Maine), Flora Brown
(Brown University), Lauren Miller (University of Maine, Farmington), Rachel
Damon (Colby College) and Ryan Ross (Stonehill College).

Cliff: Anna Merritt and Charles Merritt (Gould Academy). Cranberry Isles:
Josh Gray (Colby College), Martha Gray (Gould Academy), and Molly Gray
(Warren Wilson College).

Isle au Haut: Emily Small (Gould Academy), Kipp Quinby (College of the
Atlantic), Dane Stevens (Colorado College) and Tucker Runge (Paul Smith

Islesboro: Catie Delaney (University of Maine, Orono), Kacee Johnson
(Capilo Institute), Alexandra Harkins (University of Maine, Orono), Amon
Rolerson (University of Maine, Orono), Andrew Leach (University of Maine,
Orono), Annie Bolduc (University of Maine, Farmington), Brianna Rolerson
(Middlebury College), Elek Miller (Colby College), Erika Diffin (University of
Southern Maine), Gabriel Pendleton (University of Maine, Orono), Jairus Miller
(Bowdoin College), Kimberly Grindle (University of Maine, Orono), Krista Daley
(Bridgewater State College), Mary Czenkusch (Western State College of
Colorado), Michael Welldon (Franklin Pierce College), Nathan Oldham
(University of Maine, Orono), Nicole Bolduc (University of Maine, Orono), Nyiah
Rolerson (University of Maine, Orono), Ryan Grindle (Colorado Mountain
College), Steven Shand (Elon University), Tara Leach (University of Maine,
Orono), Timothy Zlotkowski (University of Maine, Orono), Wendy Dow
(Gettysburg College) and Wenonah Lewis (Maine College of Art).

Islesford: Cameron Fernald (Wheaton College), Cary Samuel (Colgate
University), Rachel Thomas (Northfield Mount Hermon) and Robin Fernald
(Goucher College).

Long Island: Amy Dennison (University of Southern Maine), Billie Parker (Mt.
Holyoke College), Christine Floyd (University of New Hampshire), and Moira
Johnson (Assumption College).

North Haven: Amanda Lantagne (Curry College) and Elizabeth Baribeau
(Carleton College).

Peaks Island: Aaron Schuitt (Evergreen State College), Anna Mae
McInerney (Bates College), Evans Huber (McGill University), Isaiah Oliver
(University of Richmond), Kate Herbert (University of Maine, Farmington), and
Kyle Flynn (Florida Institute of Technology).

Swan’s Island: Benjamin Wheaton (University of Maine, Orono), Abigail
Stanley (University of Maine, Farmington), Carrie Joyce (Rockport College),
Gavin Savage (University College of Bangor), and Holly Grubbs (Wells College).

Vinalhaven: Eleanor Bartolomeo (Cornell University), Kristi Butler (Franklin
Pierce College), Michaela Doughty (University of New England), Samantha
Carter (University of Maine, Orono), and William Dickey Jr. (Rockport College).

The annual deadline for applications is April 15. Applications for traditional
and other Island Institute Scholarships can be found at the Island Institute’s
website, located at IslandInstitute