Recently the Island Institute awarded over $38,000 to 51 island residents attending post-secondary institutions through the Maine Island Higher Education Scholarship. Awards ranged from $100 to $2,500.

This scholarship is available to residents of unbridged islands who are attending post-secondary education at a two- or four-year college, university, or vocational/technical institution. Award decisions were made by a panel of island community members and Island Institute staff, which scored each applicant based on academic achievement, employment and extra-curricular activities, a personal statement and special circumstances.

Students can apply for and renew this scholarship each year that they are in school.

For further information about Island Institute scholarship programs visit or contact Ruth Kermish-Allen, Education Outreach Officer at the Island Institute at (207) 594-9209 x.117,


Chebeague Island: Thomas Damon, Cooper Bowman, Loretta Hamilton, Tyler Putnam

Great Cranberry: Amy Russell, Martha Gray

Islesboro: Skylar Purdy, Natasha Nelson, Joel Grindle, Melissa Johnston, Krista Daley, Jonathon Bolduc, Rory Diffin, Annie Bolduc, Alexandra Harkins, Nyiah Rolerson, Mary Czenkusch

Islesford: Rachel Thomas, Jasmine Samuel

Long Island: Emily Carle, Lynn Clark, Lauren MacVane, Moira Johnson

Monhegan: Jessica Schnell

North Haven: Elizabeth Lovell, Kelsey Jones, Adam Alexander, Elizabeth Baribeau

Peaks: Alexandra Hodges, James Walsh, Katherine McInerney, Marieke VanDerSteenhoven, Isaiah Oliver, Katherine Radis, Lana Cannon, Neil Kinner, Robert Walsh, Kathryn Flynn, Shannon Mulkern

Swans: Abigail Stanley

Vinalhaven: Brianna Conlan, Nathaniel Wiley, Jamus Drury, Heather Smith, Kimberly Smith, Brianna Osgood, Farley Mesko, Rebecca Guptill, Danielle Bickford, Eric Beckman Jr., Eric Gasperini